Passenger TMI: Things You Need Not Share With Your Uber Driver

My passenger smelled of cologne as he settled into the backseat.  We drove from a decent suburb on a gorgeous summer night.  Our small talk started pleasantly.

“Guess why I’m heading into the city?” asked the rider, a male about fifty.

Based on his clubbing clothes, I guessed, “Bars?”

“No, for this.”  He thrust his phone between the front seats.  I gave a courteous glance because we were driving 70 mph on the tollway.  His phone had a selfie of a woman’s bare chest.  “Nice tits, huh?”

“Uh, sure.”  How does one respond?  Uber drivers need to navigate some unexpected questions and topics like politics and dating.  I eased the conversation to music and other non-breast-related topics.

The rider asked, “What’s our ETA?  I’m texting her now.  She said she took an Ambien and I don’t want her falling asleep before I get there.  There won’t be any sleeping once I’m there!”  He laughed.

He told me how he met his date on Facebook- and by accident.  He was a charming fellow; if not for the uncomfortable chick pic, it would have been a pleasant trip.  He shoved the phone toward me twice more to show the breasts his Uber ride were all about.

TMI, Too Much Information.  It may be a rider’s abrupt statement about their drug usage, their sex life, their petty crimes, and, sometimes, all of the above.

My ride ended with the man mentioning his ex-girlfriend, a “Colombian model”, a nice segue into another TMI situation.

***

A few months before, on a long ride to Chicago’s South Shore neighborhood, my rider, another man about fifty, and I had veered onto the topic of Latin America, and then, Colombia.

He said, “Colombian girls!  I love them!  When I was in Aruba, I rented two for a whole week.  Beautiful.  Young.  Fine.”

Whoa!  “Rented?”  For a week?  TMI!  Our nice conversation now had unpleasant implications.  Prostitution at best.  The reputation of Caribbean and Latin America?  A woman “rented” for a “week”?  The US State Department warns prostitutes in Aruba may be sex slaves.  This was total buzzkill on the conversation.  I am not moralistic about men who choose consensual prostitutes, but I am about totally opposed to sex slavery.

***

Sometimes, TMI is unavoidable.  The 4th of July fireworks display had just ended in suburban Elk Grove Village.  Smoky air and the smell of gunpowder wafted along the main road as I stopped for my riders.

When the couple settled in, the woman said, “Can you stop at the nearest gas station?  I’ve been needing to go for an hour.”

There was a terrific jam of cars stretching for blocks into the next stop light.  Thousands of people left the fireworks show at about the same time.

“I think I can sneak on side streets to skip most of this, but there’ll be a jam into the Arlington Heights Road stop light.”

“Thanks!  You’re the best!” she said.

I weaved through the subdivision, effectively cutting in front of dozens of cars.

“Oh god, I need to pee!”

A gas station was only a block away, but the log jam of traffic would mean several stop light cycles.  “It’ll take a few minutes there.  Can you wait?”

“Not long.”

“I have an idea.  I can take this side street and snake all the way down to the Speedway gas station at Devon.  It’s a lot further but I bet there’s no traffic.”

“Go for it!” said her husband.

We had covered two blocks when the woman said, “Please, just stop the car.  I can’t wait.”

I don’t want an accident on the upholstery.  “Yes.”

“Is there a fire hydrant?” she said.

“Here, yes.”

“This hydrant will do; please don’t look!” she said as she opened the car door.  TMI on ID4.

 

Leave a comment